2014 Governor’s Awards

wv crestMain Street Morgantown attended the 2014 Governor’s Awards on Wednesday, June 18, 2014 at 5 p.m. at the State Capitol Complex’s Culture Center in Charleston.

At the event, Main Street Morgantown was awarded a Main Street Innovation Award worth $1,500 to begin implementing its new rebranding program. Additionally, Main Street Morgantown’s executive director, Terri Cutright, was recognized at the awards ceremony for her 25 years of service to MSM, and MSM’s “volunteers of the year” were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the organization. 

The award for “Volunteer of the Year” was presented to Bill Kawecki. City Councilman Kawecki serves as an advocate on City Council for additional programming funds for Main Street Morgantown and Downtown Morgantown. He also promotes Main Street Morgantown to other businesses entities, volunteers at Main Street Morgantown events, and provides support for MSM’s wayfinding initiative.

The award for “Board Member of the Year” went to Sabrina Cave. Cave joined MSM’s Board of Directors in May 2011. Since, she has secured a partnership with WVU Parents Club for Arts Walk and Arts is Food, which she helps plan and organize. She was elected as the board’s secretary in 2013 and Organization Committee Chair in 2014.

The award for “Local Public Official of the Year” was awarded to Officer Steve Bennett, who is Downtown’s beat officer. Bennett helps maintain safety in Downtown, attends board and promotion committee meetings, helps organize event police forces, serves as a liaison between the Morgantown police and Main Street Morgantown, and has played a key role in supporting MSM’s anti-synthetic drug initiative.

Downtown’s own Jeanne Hagan, owner of Pinocchio’s Books & Toys, was presented with the award for “Business Person of the Year.” Hagan has served on the Promotion Committee for over a decade and now serves as its chair. She has also chaired the Chocolate Lovers’ Day and Kids’ Day Committees. Hagan participates in and provides support for all Downtown events and has been a member of MSM for over 25 years.

“Local Public Official of the Year,” Officer Steve Bennett; Main Street Morgantown Executive Director, Terri Cutright; “Board Member of the Year,” Sabrina Cave; Main Street Morgantown Assistant Director, Barbara Watkins, and “Volunteer of the Year,” Bill Kawecki



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s